National Awards for Excellence in Printing


Through the National Awards for Excellence in Printing (NAEP), AIFMP encourages, promotes and recognises innovation and quality in the Indian printing industry. The awards were instituted by the AIFMP in 1999 to celebrate the quest for quality that is at the heart of the printing industry. The aim of these awards is to show¬case the achievements and contribu¬tion of Indian printers and to create awareness about their capabilities. These much coveting awards are presented to individuals and organisa¬tions for exceptional work. The jury is comprised of eminent experts for the printing industry and it is ensured that the selection process is fair and without bias.

Awards for printing have a long history in India. They were initiated for the Government of India for the first time in 1955 by the Directorate of Advertising & Visual Publicity (DAVP), Ministry of Information and Broadcast¬ing and were designed as the Presi¬dent’s Awards. The then Vice Presi¬dent of India, Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, was the first chief guest and presented the certificates and prizes of excel¬lence. However, these awards were discontinued in 1985. In 1999, AIFMP took the ambitious step of reviving and managing these awards. The very first NAEP awards function was organised under the aegis of AIFMP in New Delhi. AIFMP’s NAEP are the only awards for printing supported by the Government of India, Ministry of Commerce and Industry. Over the years, the quality of work submitted for the NAEP has improved dramatically. This represents the great leap forward that the Indian printing industry has taken in terms of adopting new technology and machinery as well as improving processes, systems and materials. Recognition of Indian printing quality has now become commonplace at global awards but, for the Indian printer, the NAEP is matter of huge pride and privilege.